Not signed in (Sign In)
    So as some of you guys know I'm new to San Diego and people keep asking me if I've ridden the velodrome yet which I keep replying no. This is the first time I live close to one and I'd love to give it a shot. I was told Tuesdays are open to kids like me that don't know what they are doing. I'm sure I can look up the days to go but the reason for the post is... Any pointers for someone that has never ridden?
    •  
      CommentAuthorsvelocity
    • CommentTimeJul 28th 2011 edited

I've never done/seen the Tuesday Velo Youth stuff to be able to comment but here's the link to the SD Velodrome Association junior classes and schedule. Beginner Junior Classes appear to be on Mondays and intermediate on Thursdays. From my experience everybody at the track is very welcoming. Just go down and check it out...

http://sdvelodrome.com/classes/junior-classes/
    • CommentAuthorHMeins
    • CommentTimeJul 28th 2011

If you are under 18 then the Monday class is where you'll start. It's free as part of the outreach program required by the city's lease to SDVA. Once over 18 you'll want to contact Pam Jorgensen-Houle and take the Monday evening adult class. It's $120 for six weeks of instruction. Just show up on the first evening of a six week program and Pam will sign you up. You won't need a track bike at this stage; a properly fitted bike will be provided for you to use. Once you complete Level 1, you will advance to Level 2. The VeloYouth program is for younger children from economically depressed neighborhoods, also part of the required outreach program and probably not your cup of tea. If you find out you enjoy track racing and decide you'd like to advance in competition, then you should plan on contacting John Ledford at
    [[_linker_]]
    John trains riders on Sunday mornings. Eddie B is another Level 1 coach you might consider working with. He trains riders on Saturdays at noon at the track:
    [[_linker_]]