Not signed in (Sign In)
  1.  
    The annual Summer Concerts season has already started in San Diego. With the long evening light and nice weather, it's nice to get out with family and friends to listen to free, live music in our public parks. Ride your bike to a park and have a picnic while kickin' it in the grass or on the benches.

    It might be fun to arrange a Sunday morning ride to La Jolla for the Farmers Market in the morning, concert at the Cove in the afternoon, and then back to PB for a concert at Kate Sessions in the evening. I'll try to put something together for after the 4th of July holiday. That way we should be done with the gray skies and cool weather at the coast.

    In the meantime, get out and about in your neighborhood parks and enjoy the music and weather.

    Ride well and be safe out there.

    OKB






    =======================================
    =======================================

    Balboa Park offers up some nice music at the Spreckels Organ Pavilion on Monday's, Tuesday's. Wednesday's and Thursday evenings. It's a great way to spend weekday afternoons and evenings.

    The Uptown Mesa's have concerts Friday evenings at Trolley Barn Park and Pioneer/Mission Hills Park; every other Saturday at North Park Bird Park.

    The beaches have concerts on Friday evenings at Point Loma Park, and Sunday's at Scripps Park at La Jolla Cove and Kate Sessions Park in PB.

    Coronado Concerts can be heard on Saturday and Sunday's at the Coronado Ferry Landing and Sunday's at Spreckels Park

    North County has Tuesday concerts at Powerhouse Park in Del Mar, Thursday concerts at Fletcher Cove Park in Solana Beach and every other Sunday at Moonlight Beach in Encinitas.

    ======================================
    ======================================

    UNION_TRIBUNE Summer Concerts 2012
    http://www.utsandiego.com/news/2012/may/16/free-summer-concerts-2012/?page=2#article

    ======================================
    ======================================

    BALBOA PARK SUMMER CONCERT SERIES 2012

    ===

    Spreckels Organ Society's Summer Organ Festival
    Spreckels Organ Pavilion,
    Balboa Park.
    Mondays, 7:30 p.m.
    (619) 702-8138
    http://sosorgan.org/2012SOF.htm

    June 25: Robert Plimpton
    July 2: Simon Gledhill
    July 9: Tom Trenney
    July 16: Ty Woodward
    July 23: Diane Bish
    July 30: Carlo Curley
    Aug. 6: Elizabeth & Raymond Chenault
    Aug. 13: Gordon Turk
    Aug. 20: Silent Movie Night with Dennis James
    Aug. 27: Carol Williams and Guests

    ===

    Balboa Park's Twilight in the Park
    Spreckels Organ Pavilion.
    Tuesdays-Wednesdays-Thursdays (except for July 4), 6:15 to 7:15 p.m.
    (619) 239-0512 or http://www.balboapark.org.

    June 19 (Tues.): Stars on the Water
    June 20 (Wed.): El Cajon German Band
    June 21 (Thur.): Graceland


    June 26 (Tues.): The Legends
    June 27 (Wed.): Cool Fever
    June 28 (Thur.): Bayou Brothers


    July 3 (Tues.): Marine Band San Diego
    July 5 (Thur.): 145th Street


    July 10 (Tues.): Ron Jermain
    July 11 (Wed.): Breez’n
    July 12 (Thur.): Cat-illacs


    July 17 (Tues.): Mariachi Chula Vista
    July 18 (Wed.): Hillcrest Wind Ensemble
    July 19 (Thur.): San Diego Six


    July 24 (Tues.): San Diego Youth Symphony
    July 25 (Wed.): Corvelles
    July 26 (Thur.): San Diego Civic Dance Arts


    July 31 (Tues.): Coastal Community Concert Band
    Aug. 1 (Wed.): San Diego Nite Band
    Aug. 2 (Thur.): Uncle Bob & The Earthmovers


    Aug. 7 (Tues.): Coronado Big Band
    Aug. 8 (Wed.): San Diego Concert Band
    Aug. 9 (Thur.): Kearny Mesa Band


    Aug. 14 (Tues.): Rick Robledo & The Working Cowboy
    Aug. 15 (Wed.): City Guard Band
    Aug. 16 (Thur.): San Diego Banjo Band


    Aug. 21 (Tues.): Stoney B Blues Band
    Aug. 22 (Wed.): U.S. Navy Southwest Band
    Aug. 23 (Thur.): Coronado Concert Band


    Aug. 28 (Tues.): The Moonlight Serenade Orchestra
    Aug. 29 (Wed.): The Coolrays
    Aug. 30 (Thur.): Dixie Express Jazz Band
  2.  
    Summer Concerts (cont.)

    ===================================

    CORONADO SUMMER CONCERT SERIES 2012

    ===

    Coronado Concerts in the Park
    Spreckels Park,
    Orange Avenue, between Sixth and Seventh streets.
    Sundays, 6 p.m. ~ unless otherwise noted.
    (619) 437-8788 or http://www.coronadovisitorcenter.com.

    May 27: Coronado Community Concert Band
    June 3: The Lonesome Georges
    June 10: The Wild Child
    June 17: Navy Southwest Show Band
    June 24: Mar Dels
    July 1: Stilettos, with Tommy Price
    July 4: Coronado Community Big Band, (4 p.m.)
    July 8: Palomar Pacific Coast Concert Band
    July 22: Rockola
    July 29: Neon Nation
    Aug. 5: Liquid Blue
    Aug. 12: Surfin’ Safari
    Aug. 19: Sue Palmer & Her Motel Swing Orchestra
    Aug. 26: Navy Southwest Wind Ensemble
    Sept. 2: Redlands 4th of July Band, (5 p.m.)
    Sept. 9: In Midlife Crisis, (5 p.m.)


    ====================================

    Coronado Ferry Landing Concert Series
    Coronado Ferry Landing,
    Saturdays and Sundays at 2 p.m. unless otherwise noted.
    (619) 435-8895 or http://www.coronadoferrylandingshops.com.

    June 16 (Sat.): Paragon Band
    June 17 (Sun.): Crown Island Jazz Band, (1-4 p.m.)
    June 23 (Sat.): Dixie Jazz Katz
    June 24 (Sun.): Velvet Cafe
    June 30 (Sat.): Finding the Constant Jazz Quartet
    July 1 (Sun.): Coronado Big Band, 1-3 p.m.
    July 4 (Wed.): Crown Island Jazz Band, (1-4 p.m.)
    July 7 (Sat.): Don Lee
    July 8 (Sun.): Stilettos
    July 14 (Sat.): Paragon Band
    July 15 (Sun.): Blue Frog Band
    July 21 (Sat.): Dixie Jazz Katz
    July 22 (Sun.): Cool Fever
    July 28 (Sat.): Finding the Constant Jazz Quartet
    July 29 (Sun.): Teagan Taylor Trio
    Aug. 4 (Sat.): Blue Frog Band
    Aug. 5 (Sun.): Stilettos
    Aug. 11 (Sat.): Paragon Band
    Aug. 12 (Sun.): Finding the Constant Jazz Quartet
    Aug. 18 (Sat.): Swamp Critters
    Aug. 19 (Sun.): Crown Island Jazz Band, (1-4 p.m.)
    Aug. 25 (Sat.): Don Lee
    Aug. 26 (Sun.): Teagan Taylor Trio
    Sept. 1 (Sat.): Stilettos
    Sept. 2 (Sun.): Blue Frog Band
    Sept. 3 (Mon.- Labor Day): Cool Fever
    Sept. 9 (Sun.): Swamp Critters
    Sept. 23 (Sun.): Teagan Taylor Trio
    Sept. 30 (Sun.): Coronado Big Band, (1-3 p.m.)


    ==========================

    BEACHES

    =====

    La Jolla Concerts by the Sea
    Scripps Park at La Jolla Cove,
    1133 Coast Blvd.
    Sundays, 2 to 4 p.m.
    (858) 454-1600 or http://www.ljconcertsbythesea.org.

    July 15: Big Time Operator
    July 22: Bill Magee Blues Band
    July 29: Theo & the Zydeco Patrol
    Aug. 5: Bastard Sons of Johnny Cash
    Aug. 12: Benny Hollman’s Big Band Explosion
    Aug. 19: Rockola
    Aug. 26: Sue Palmer & Her Motel Swing Orchestra
    Sept. 2: The Heroes

    ===

    Pacific Beach Concerts on the Green
    Kate Sessions Park,
    Lamont Street just north of Beryl Street/Soledad Road.
    Sundays 4 to 6:30 p.m.
    http://www.pbconcerts.org/

    July 22: The Palominos
    July 29: Agua Dulce
    Aug. 5: Rockola
    Aug. 12: U.S. Navy Big Band

    =======

    Point Loma Summer Concerts
    Point Loma Park
    1049 Catalina Blvd.
    Fridays, 5:30 to 8:30 p.m.
    http://www.plconcerts.org/

    July 13: Atomic Groove
    July 20: Surf City All Stars
    July 27: The Mar Dels
    Aug. 3: The Navy Band
    Aug. 10: Hot August Night


    ===============================

    UPTOWN MESAS & DOWNTOWN

    =====

    University Heights Summer in the Park Concert Series
    Trolley Barn Park
    Adams Avenue and Florida Street.
    Fridays, 6 to 8 p.m.
    (619) 297-3166 or http://www.uhcdc.org.

    June 29: Graceland
    July 6: Hotsy Totsy
    July 13: Latin A Go-Go
    July 20: Sonic Epidemic
    July 27: Stoney B Blues Band
    Aug. 3: Sue Palmer & Her Motel Swing Orchestra

    ====

    18th Annual Mission Hills Concerts in the Park
    Pioneer/Mission Hills Park
    1425 Washington Place
    Fridays from 6:00-8:00p.m.
    http://www.ourmissionhills.com/Annual-Events/summer-concerts-in-the-park.html

    July 4 (WED): G String Daddies
    July 6: Ballad Mongers
    July 13: Y3K
    July 20: The Heroes
    July 27: Spectrum
    August 3rd: Hot Pstromi
    August 10th: The Jackstraws
    August 17th: Hullabaloo
    August 24th: Christy Bruneau
    August 31st: Althea Smith

    ========

    North Park Bird Park Summer Concerts
    28th and Thorn streets.
    Every other Saturday, 5:30 to 7:30 p.m.
    (619) 284-0156
    http://www.northparksd.org/concerts

    June 16: Nathan James
    June 30: Tinku
    July 14: Kitten With a Whip
    July 28: Folding Mr. Lincoln
    Aug. 11: Whitney Shay

    ====

    Seaport Village East Plaza Gazebo
    Seaport Village 849 W. Harbor Drive.
    Sundays, 1 to 4 p.m.
    (619) 235-4014 or http://www.seaportvillage.com
    (also live music daily noon to 4 p.m. in food court).

    See website for updated band lineup for July and August.

    May 27: Windy City
    June 3: Nova
    June 10: Ballad Mongers
    June 17: The Cat-illacs
    June 24: Breez’n
  3.  
    Summer Concerts (cont.)

    =============================

    NORTH COUNTY

    ====

    Moonlight Beach
    Encinitas Boulevard.
    Every other Sunday, 3 to 5 p.m.
    (760) 633-2756 or http://www.ci.encinitas.ca.us.

    July 8: The Grass Heat
    July 22: Charlie Imes
    Aug. 5: Dead Feather Moon
    Aug. 19: Shoreline Rootz

    =====

    Solana Beach Concerts at the Cove Series
    Fletcher Cove Park
    140 S. Sierra Ave.
    Thursdays, 6 to 7:45 p.m. through Aug. 23
    (858) 720-2453 or http://www.cityofsolanabeach.org.

    See website for updated band lineup.

    June 14: TBA
    June 21: Michael Tiernan
    June 28: TBA
    July 5: Billy Watson
    July 12: Chase Morrin
    July 19: Symphony Brass Quintet
    July 26: TBA
    Aug. 2: Mike Mydral

    ===========================

    Del Mar Foundation Summer Twilight Concert Series
    Powerhouse Park,
    1600 Coast Blvd.
    Tuesdays at 7 p.m. (unless otherwise noted.)
    (858) 635-1363 or http://www.delmarfoundation.org.

    June 19: Mar Dels
    July 17: Rockola
    Aug. 21: Eve Selis Woodstock Show
    Sept. 9: The Heroes, (5 p.m.)

    ==============================

    LA MESA

    ====

    La Mesa "Sundays at Six" Summer Concerts
    Celebrating its Centennial
    Harry Griffen Park,
    9550 Milden St.
    Sundays, Concerts from 6:00pm - 7:00pm
    (619) 667-1300 or http://www.cityoflamesa.com/DocumentView.aspx?DID=2535

    (Subject to change without notice.)

    June 10 Navy Jazz Band Southwest
    June 17 San Diego Concert Band
    June 24 Alias (Music of the 80's & 90's)
    July 1 The Pine Creek Posse Band (Country)
    July 8 Breez'n (Dance/ Variety)
    July 15 Trails and Rails (Music of the 30's)
    July 22 RJ Big Band (Swing)
    July 29 Sonic Epidemic (70’s Rock)
    Aug 5 Spectrum Band (70's Disco and Rock)
    Aug 12 The Earthmovers Featuring Lady J (Down Home Blues)


    ====================


    :face-monkey:
  4.  
    OKB, This is fantastic! Thanks for sharing this.

    For one thing, the events in del mar, solana beach, and moonlight beach is along my commute. I'll make sure to ride during the days of the concert rather than driving. I usually park the car in Solana beach and ride to Torrey Pines most days.
    • CommentAuthorgavilan
    • CommentTimeJul 18th 2012
     
    Super cool! I'm glad I checked this post out -I'll definitely plan on this one of these evenings.
    Thanks for the info OKB!