Not signed in (Sign In)
    • CommentAuthorSweetEnnui
    • CommentTimeJan 26th 2015

I hesitate to post because I'm not some biking badass and I fear the mockery!

I drive around 30 miles a day to UCSD from South Park. When I lived in Little Italy, I was a bike commuter (to Mount Hope, through downtown and up Market Street) on a commuter Specialized hybrid bike. I loved it. My job is now at UCSD and my commute time is starting to increase and increase (more students, more traffic, more headache) and now it takes me 45 minutes to an hour to get to and from work. I figured if I am spending this much time commuting, I would rather be on a bike at least some of the week. Maybe I am kidding myself but I think I could work up to it by going up (or back) one way in the car and biking the other leg.

The issue is that the hills around UCSD are killer and I think I'll probably need a lighter, more "road bike"-like bike in order to tackle them successfully. But I have NO experience on a road bike and I don't even know what to look for. I had a tri bike right before my daughter was born and I loved how easy it was to go up hills but man, I felt every bump in the road! Is this just going to be the experience and I need to get used to it?

My last issue is that I'm a plus size woman -- I'm super athletic but every time I go into a bike shop I feel like I am being shoved into the hybrid/mountain bikes. Perhaps I'm not being vocal enough but I feel like when I talk about wanting to get up hills, they tell me it has granny gears and leave it at that.

Any help or suggestions would be welcome.
    • CommentAuthormfutch

Hi SweetEnnui

Welcome to the discussion board! I think you'll find that everyone here is mellow and there won't be any mockery for whatever type of riding you like to do. We're all cyclists!